: Dedicated Grandmother is Harrison County School District’s Parent of the Year

: Dedicated Grandmother is Harrison County School District’s Parent of the Year

Congratulations to Mrs. Dorothy Parker -- Harrison County School District's 2016-2017 Parent of the Year!

Mrs. Parker was honored during Monday night's school board meeting. She is the grandparent of a third grade student at D'Iberville Elementary School and has volunteered countless hours at the school since 2013."Grammy Parker", as she is fondly known by students, is a familiar face at the school's annual book fairs and fundraisers. She spends several hours... every week in a third grade classroom conducting literature circles and has donated numerous books and materials to foster a love of reading. She also encourages the students to set and reach their goals through incentives, like special treats and pizza parties.

Outside the classroom, Mrs. Parker joins students during lunch to build a relationship that makes them feel safe, comfortable and loved.

One teacher wrote: "The positive effect that her presence has on the students is evident from the smiles on their faces and the way they light up when she comes to visit each week. My classroom community would not be complete without Mrs. Dorothy Parker."

Mrs. Parker will be recognized at the school End of the Year Assembly and will get a special place in the yearbook to remember her in years to come as someone who has instilled in the students a love for lifelong learning.

Here is the list of all the "Parent of the Year" winners at each school. We thank all of these parents for generously donating their time and talents to help our students succeed in school and in life.

Bel-Aire Elementary: Lori Gutweeiler
Crossroads Elementary: Rodolfo Gallardo III
Child Development Center: Gregory Roberson
D’Iberville Elementary: Dorothy Parker
D’Iberville Middle School: Deidre Dexter
D’Iberville High: Janice Ferguson
Lizana Elementary: Melissa Bounds
Lyman Elementary: Kristy Schuler
North Woolmarket: Dr. Johnathan Woodward
Orange Grove Elementary: Jennifer DeLoach
River Oaks Elementary: Christi Ragins
Saucier Elementary: Denise Varhol
Three Rivers Elementary: Dr. Tammy Means
West Harrison High: Harold Rose
West Wortham: Kathryn Farmer
Woolmarket Elementary: Alexis Robinson