HCSD Teachers Named to MDE Advisory Council

Five HCSD Teachers Named to MDE Advisory Council

(HARRISON COUNTY, MS) Five teachers in the Harrison County School District have been appointed to the MDE 2020-21 Mississippi Teacher Advisory Council. HCSD congratulates these following outstanding educators:

  • Velma Groue – North Woolmarket Elementary & Middle School Velma Groue
  • Lisa J. Ladner – North Gulfport Middle School Lisa J. Ladner
  • Tiffany E. Hart – North Gulfport Middle School Tiffany Hart
  • Anna Hansen – D’Iberville High School Anna Hansen
  • Holly Susanna Robbins – West Wortham Elementary & Middle School Holly Robbins

These teachers will join other experienced and highly regarded professionals from across the state to provide feedback to Mississippi Superintendent of Education Dr. Carey Wright on the initiatives of the MDE, the Mississippi State Board of Education, and the Mississippi Legislature. The MTAC aims to empower teachers to discuss topics critical to their success in the classroom and how MDE can assist.

The MTAC, formed in 2016, now has more than 300 educators representing schools in urban and rural settings and an array of content areas, including general education, arts, special education, and career and technical education.

“Over the last four years, I have greatly valued the feedback from teachers across this state through our meetings. The MDE has provided professional development opportunities, resources and changes in policy based in part on conversations I’ve had with members of the MTAC,” Wright said. “I look forward to hearing from our new members as we work collaboratively on behalf of students,” Wright said.